Tongbin “Teresa” Qu, Ph.D., PE, AICP

Dr. Tongbin Theresa Qu
Tongbin “Teresa” Qu
Program Manager

Dr. Tongbin “Teresa” Qu (She, her, hers) is the Program Manager at CTEDD. She is also an Associate Professor of Research in the Department of Public Affairs and Planning at the University of Texas at Arlington (UTA). Before she joined UTA, Dr. Qu was an Associate Professor at Michigan State University (MSU), prior to which, she was an Assistant Professor of Practice at Texas A&M University and an associate research engineer at Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI).

Dr. Qu is an interdisciplinary scientist across the fields of transportation engineering, urban planning and sustainability. Her primary interests are at the nexus of transportation, sustainability, and climate change. She has over 30 years of experience in the transportation field covering research, teaching, consulting, and engineering practice. Dr. Qu’s expertise includes bicycle, pedestrian, and multi-modal transportation planning and modeling, complete streets design, Big Data Analysis, shared mobility, accessible transportation, Autonomous Vehicles for people with disabilities, traffic congestion monitoring and evaluation, and vehicle emission modeling. 

During her years with TTI, Dr. Qu was involved with several national level Strategic Highway Research Projects (SHRP) funded by Federal Highway Administration, and many regional projects funded by several State Department of Transportation (DOT), Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization, Houston-Galveston Area Council. More recently, Dr. Qu has been focused on sustainable and decarbonizing transportation, specifically promoting active transportation, public transit, emerging and shared mobility, as well as sustainable and resilient communities planning. 

Dr. Qu is a Fellow of the International Road Federation (IRF). She is a member in National Academies Transportation Research Board (TRB) Accessible Transportation and Mobility Committee (AME50), and Emerging and Innovative Public Transport and Technologies Committee (AP020). She is also serving as a track chair for Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP) Annual Conference.